Kentucky No Fault Insurance

Kentucky is one of 12 US states that have no fault auto insurance laws. The No Fault Insurance refers to any car insurance system that requires you as a driver to have auto insurance for your protection and pays out regardless of fault. At the same time, you have limitations on your ability to sue the other party in case of a car accident. For most drivers, this brings about significant convenience. This is because it avoids lengthy litigation processes, as well as costly court fees that result after the accident.

What is Choice No Fault?

The State of Kentucky adheres to the so-called Choice No-Fault system. If you are a driver, you have the option to reject the No-Fault system. Instead, you may elect to sue the other party for any injury that you sustained. Such right to sue for any car-related injury is known as Tort system.

Hence, if you are Kentucky driver and you decide to opt out, you retain the right to sue the other party. However, he can sue you, as well. If order to reject no fault insurance, you need to accomplish the form on no fault rejection, available at the State Insurance Office.

You should take it upon yourself to assess the advantages of a no-fault insurance against whatever benefits a Tort insurance policy provides. No-fault insurance are inexpensive and ensure fast-claim payments. On the other hand, Tort insurance allows for compensation arising from non-monetary damages, like emotional distress, pain and suffering.

Kentucky Requirements for No Fault (PIP insurance)

The Act on Motor Vehicle Reparations, also known as No Fault Insurance, possesses two components. These are the personal injury protection coverage, or PIP; and the Tort Rights, which is the limitation on the right for a person to sue others.

There are basic requirements for No Fault type in the State of Kentucky. When it comes to Personal Injury Protection, or PIP Coverage, the State requires basic coverage on all vehicles with at least four wheels. Basic Personal Injury Product must be paid by the insurance company of the car in which the injured individual is riding during the time of the accident. Basic coverage is likewise paid, if the car injures a pedestrian, regardless of who is responsible for the accident.

What does No Fault or PIP pay? It provides a maximum of $10,000 for every person for his lost wages, medical costs and other related out-of-pocket expenses caused by any injury. Higher monetary benefits, as well as deductibles, are deemed optional.

Kentucky Requirements for Tort (Bodily Injury & Property Damage)

If you choose to follow the conventional tort system instead of a no fault insurance policy, you retain your right to sue the other party for any damages. Of course, you have to consider the requirements for Tort, as well as the benefits that you will receive for opting on such system.

If you are a driver who registers, maintains and drives a vehicle in the State of Kentucky, you are deemed to possess limitations on your rights to sue and be sued. This is known as the Tort rights. This means that if you are injured, you cannot recover and wage loss, medical and other related expenses from the faulted party, unless injuries exceed specific thresholds, which are $1,000 in medical costs, any broken bone, permanent injury or disfigurement, or death.

If you file a no-fault rejection form, you will not be entitled to enjoy basic Personal Injury Protection benefits. However, even if you have already rejected PIP, you can still buy its basic coverage back.

Kentucky DUI Laws

The Kentucky DUI Laws prohibit you from driving a car if you have a .08 percent concentration of blood alcohol or above. This .08 percentage limit is the standard for all US states. Kentucky possesses a low BAC limit when it comes to minors, and drivers of commercial types of vehicles. Kentucky has harsh laws for DUI with serious circumstances, like transporting a minor-aged child, driving 30 miles per hour above the speed limit, counter flow driving, and other similar infractions.

When you receive a DUI conviction for the first time in Kentucky, you will have to pay a fine of at least $200. You will need to spend 2 to 30 days in prison, and perform community service for the same number of days. Expect your driver’s license to be suspended for at least 30 days. Aggravated DUI conviction means you have to spend 4 days in prison.

Kentucky possesses strict laws against drunk driving. Once you decide to drink and drive in this state, you do not only risk your driving license, but also your freedom and future.

High risk and young drivers

Who are considered high risk in the State of Kentucky?

  • Young Drivers
  • Sports Car owners
  • Existing DUI records

Young drivers are considered to be high-risk. If you are under the age of 25, you belong to the high-risk group, and will need to get a high-risk car insurance in Kentucky.

If you own and drive a flashy, SUV or sports car, you possess a high-risk car. In order to keep your premiums low, you need to drive a vehicle that possesses a high-safety rating. Two car brands belonging to this category are Honda and Volvo.

If you have current DUI records, you are definitely considered to be high risk. This means high premiums on your insurance. There are ways in which you can improve your insurability and lower down your risk. You should pay all fines to clear any pending violation in your record. You can attend a driving school to improve your driving record. It will help if you can take classes on defensive driving.

If you are really serious about finding cheap Kentucky No Fault Insurance then compare quotes from at least 3 different insurance companies. It only takes a few minutes to fill our simple online form, but it can save you a lot of hard earned dollars.