Minnesota DUI

According to Minnesota Driver and Vehicle Services, road collisions related to alcohol use account for hundreds of deaths every year. Thousands of its drivers failed the BAC level that is mandated by Minnesota DUI laws. If you are a driver in Minnesota and you commit a DUI offense, expect stiff penalties. These range from fines, license revocations, felony convictions and prison time.

What are considered DUI BAC levels in Minnesota?

Minnesota DUI Laws and BAC limits:

1. All drivers must have a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) Limit of 0.08 percent. In the Minnesota state, it is considered to be a crime for you to drive with a BAC of 0.08 percent and over.

2. Commercial drivers have a BAC Limit of 0.04 percent. It is a crime in Minnesota for commercial vehicle drivers to operate their vehicles while having a BAC of 0.04 percent or over.

3. If you are of minor age, which means you are under 21 years of age, your BAC Limit is equal to 0.00 percent. This means zero tolerance. It is an offense for individuals below 21 years of age to operate a vehicle after consuming even a small amount of alcohol.

It must likewise be noted that it is a serious offense for anyone to refuse to take a chemical test in the state of Minnesota. Implied consent laws are to be enforced.

What are the penalties of Minnesota DUI?

Criminal penalties and fines upon conviction for Minnesota DUI are heavy. For the first-time offender of DWI law Minnesota, he will receive a penalty of 90 days jail time, and $1,000 fine. Penalties and fines become stiffer as the offender of Minnesota DUI repeats the offence a number of times. The most serious offense of Minnesota DWI Law is considered to be a felony, and is punishable by as long as seven years jail time. The offender will have to pay a heavy fine of $14,000 for having committed DWI offense several times.

How does DUI Affect Minnesota Auto Insurance Rates

If you are caught operating a vehicle under the influence in Minnesota, more often than not, your insurance premiums will be negatively affected.

First of all, if you committed a DUI, this will be reflected in your driving record, which means that you will suffer the consequences of your misdemeanor long after any interactions with the Minnesota court have ended.

Your DUI likewise has direct impact on what you pay for your car insurance. If you need to buy a car insurance policy from an insurer, the company generally requests for your driving record to be able to review it. If you have committed a DUI, it will surely be noted in your record. Such driving record, including your DUI, will be considered for evaluation to properly arrive at your policy rate.

With a DUI on your record, you are now labelled as a high-risk driver. It will affect the amount of insurance premiums that an insurer will charge you since as a driver, you are now considered as high-risk. Normally, additional points will be indicated in your driving record simply because of your DUI offense. Once insurers check your history and find the increased number of points, they will charge you for higher premiums. There are insurance companies that might decide on not insuring you at all, if only because of the DUI offense on your record.

SR22 Insurance Minnesota

An SR-22 Insurance is simply a statement of financial responsibility that proves that you have obtained the appropriate type and amount of insurance that the state requires you to buy. Even when SR22 insurance is not mandatory in Minnesota if you are convicted of alcohol-related driving, it will actually save you significant amount of money by shopping around for car insurance after a DUI conviction. It is a must to obtain insurance from the right provider; otherwise, expect your car insurance to be expensive.

Try getting auto insurance quotes and compare insurance rates to land the best possible deal. All you have to do is provide your ZIP code to any car insurance website and you will immediately compare prices of Minnesota car insurance in no time at all.

Although the Minnesota state does not require SR22 insurance after any alcohol-related driving misdemeanor; if you already possess SR22 insurance requirements and you transfer residence to Minnesota, you will have to carry over these requirements to the state.