Minnesota No Fault Insurance

Because Minnesota is a no fault state, everyone who drives is required to purchase Minnesota no fault insurance. You must have the bodily injury and property damage liability coverage that is generally required in most states, but you also must purchase personal injury protection, uninsured motorist and underinsured motorist coverage.

Minnesota’s Liability Requirements

The liability coverage will cover any damages caused to persons or property in an accident that you have caused. Bodily injury coverage for one person’s medical bills must amount to $30,000. Bodily injury coverage for all people requiring medical attention must amount to $60,000. Property damage liability must contain $10,000 for repair or replacement bills.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Insurance

Because Minnesota is a no-fault state, the at-fault driver will only be responsible for paying medical bills for bodily injuries in limited circumstances; in most cases, your PIP insurance policy will pay for your medical bills.

For the purpose of paying your medical bills, Minnesota mandates that you have:

  • $40,000 for the medical costs incurred by one person
  • $20,000 to be allotted to medical bills
  • $20,000 to be allotted to non-medical costs such as lost wages

Uninsured Motorist Coverage

If you are hit by an uninsured motorist or hit-and-run driver, you will be able to pay for your own medical bills and those of your passengers with uninsured motorist coverage. You must purchase:

  • $25,000 for one person’s bodily injuries
  • $50,000 for everyone injured in the accident

Underinsured Motorist Coverage

If an underinsured motorist causes an accident and can’t cover the medical bills after your PIP insurance runs out, underinsured motorist coverage takes over. You must have purchased:

  • $25,000 for one person’s bodily injuries
  • $50,000 for everyone injured in the accident

How Minnesota Car Insurance Rates Are Determined

Insurance companies determine how much your rates will be based on how much of a risk you pose of needing to file a claim. Several factors go into this determination such as your age, your gender, where you live, how many miles you drive each year, where you park your vehicle, how often cars are stolen in your area, how often cars are vandalized in the area and how much your car is worth.

Minnesota DWI Penalties

You will receive several penalties for receiving a DUI in Minnesota. A conviction for the first offense can require a jail sentence of up to 90 days, a $1,000 fine and a suspended license. In order to reinstate your license, you will have to pay a reinstatement fee equal to $250 along with another surcharge of $430. The application fee for your driver’s license will add $24 to the total.

After a DWI conviction, your current auto insurance company will, undoubtedly, raise your rates, but you have options. You can comparison shop for a better price, and you will be able to find SR22 car insurance if you need it for a price that you can afford.